View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 13, 2024 6:17 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Anyone here with Cable X experience? 
Author Message
Forum User

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Loretto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Anyone here with Cable X experience?
Check out my thread

http://www.thirdgen.org/techboard/trans ... oblem.html

Having a lot of trouble wiring this up. I thought it was pretty basic, the cable X works after doing the test on it, I just cant get signal to it to power it and make the speedo work

_________________
Image


Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:54 pm
Profile
CCFBG Club Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:52 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: Drayton
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
I used one 4-5 years ago but don't remember anything about it

_________________
Image


Mon Sep 03, 2012 8:14 pm
Profile
Forum User

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Loretto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
Its pretty basic installation but for some reason wont give me signal, the unit itself is just a 12v switched and a ground to power it. I ran it though the specified testing and it works.

All im having trouble with is the signal. JMD in that thread says to power the VSS, it needs a 12v source instead. My car is an 87 so it had a cable speedo. If its cable driven I dont think it would have to run through the computer first? Been trying to get it to work for days

_________________
Image


Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:12 am
Profile
CCFBG Club Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:52 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: Drayton
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
You have to set the dip switches for the correct number of pulses that come from the vss. I know on the newer stuff the signal out of the pcm is 4000 pulses per mile. The speed sensor is an ac pulse generator so you don't power the sensor.

_________________
Image


Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:57 am
Profile
Forum User

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Loretto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
Oh ok so correct me if im wrong, the Cable X acts like the PCM and takes the signal based on the dip switch setting? So it doesnt need to be run through the buffer box or anything the unit itself does all that

I've only tried 1 setting, I havent tried the 4000ppm or 17x1000 pulse settings yet. It says in the instructions for the cable X 30 i have to multiply the 4000ppm by .267

_________________
Image


Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:28 pm
Profile
Forum User

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 80
Location: Loretto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
Got it working!!!!! Did what you said and took it off the 12v power source and re routed the wire to the same ground that the unit was using. Although my new dip settings aren't right it says im doing 80kms in first gear so Ill have to try my other settings

_________________
Image


Tue Sep 04, 2012 2:23 pm
Profile
CCFBG Club Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:52 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: Drayton
Reply with quote
Post Re: Anyone here with Cable X experience?
Sounds like a step in the right direction

_________________
Image


Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.