View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun May 19, 2024 5:48 am

Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Red-Tek AC Recharge Kit 
CCFBG Club Member

Post Red-Tek AC Recharge Kit
Has anyone used this from Canadian Tire? I've been hearing good things about it; you can also get a sealant with the kit as well to seal any leaks in the system.....Seems like it may be worth a try.

So why am I asking? Well the AC in the 96 Firebird worked perfectly last year, but this year it is useless....I suspect that the coolant has probably leaked out :(

Is anyone familiar with the system at all?? I've never done anything like this before, and the instructions I've found only for using the red-tek kit are less than adequate.

Finally, since late last summer the AC in the Sonoma hasn't been as frigid as it used to be....it still keeps me relatively cool, but I thought that if I had good luck with this kit I'd try some in the Sonoma as well.

If anyone has done this and care share some advice, or explain how to do it I'd really appreciate it.....Also, if anyone has a diagram of where to find the appropriate service ports for either vehicle that would be awesome.

Thanks!

Sun May 29, 2011 6:25 pm
Senior Forum User

Post Re: Red-Tek AC Recharge Kit
http://shbox.com/1/ac_system.jpg

ops thats lt1..might be the same?

Sun May 29, 2011 7:30 pm
CCFBG Club Member

You had the engine done in the 96 so did they refill it? You can not mix refrigerants so if there is anything left it should be recovered before using the redtek. I have used Redtek a few times and had good results. The molecules are slightly larger than R134A so it does not leak as easily. The sealer will not work if it is a compressor seal but otherwise its worth a try. The kit will come with instructions and if you can't find the service ports you need to get some glasses!

Sun May 29, 2011 9:08 pm
CCFBG Club Member